Go! Entertainment

Home of fine artists, coloring your world....

Before After

Heaven 17

Click here for some album excerpts

Reviews at Amazon

Electro pop pioneers Heaven 17 release their first album in 8 years on 27th February 2006 entitled ‘Before After’ on Go! Entertainment via Rough Trade Distribution

Before After takes the band back to their roots with strong melodies, disco beats and electro sound combined to make this their strongest album since ‘Penthouse & Pavement’ and ‘Luxury Gap’ The songs feature Billie Godfrey and the legendary Angie Brown on additional vocals.

Fronted by the charismatic Glenn Gregory, alongside the other original members Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh, Heaven 17 have collectively pioneered British synthesizer pop through The Future (The Golden Hour Of The Future), The Human League (Reproduction, Travelogue) and Heaven 17 (Penthouse And Pavement). They are responsible for two of the UK’s greatest ‘electro’ singles - both ‘Being Boiled’ and ‘(We Don’t Need This) Fascist Groove Thing’.

Heaven 17 also elevated the role of producer to the level of artist in the 1980s by shaping hits such as ‘Sign Your Name’ with Terence Trent D’Arby and re-launching Tina Turner’s career, initially by working with her on their own B.E.F. compilation, Music Of Quality & Distinction, and then later producing her Top 10 ‘comeback’ hit, ‘Let’s Stay Together’.

In recent years Martyn Ware has recorded music with Vince Clarke (Depeche Mode, Erasure) for art installations including a one-off commission for the Sellafield nuclear power station and explored the realm of 3D sound. The always inventive Ian Craig Marsh has been involved with soundtrack work. Glenn Gregory’s ambient pop group Honeyroot caught a lot of people by surprise with their beautiful version of Joy Division’s ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’.

‘…these guys were commenting on ‘80s culture before the decade had fully arrived: ‘Their entire aesthetic predicted the look and sound of the decade. Three Sheffield boys reared on glam, funkadelia and German electronics, using synthesizers instead of guitars, doing Pas not gigs, sporting ponytails and suits, and espousing principles every bit as socialist as the class of 77’



©2013 Go! Entertainment

1. I'm Gonna Make You Fall In Love With Me
2. Hands Up To Heaven
3. The Way It Is
4. Freedom From Love
5. Don't Fear The Reaper
6. Into The Blue
7. Deeper and Deeper
8. What Would It Take
9. Someone For Real
10. Are You Ready?